THE ENVIRONMENT

BY GREENSEA

ALGAE AND THE ENVIRONMENT

As a carbon dioxide trap and oxygen producer, the ocean is the biggest lung on the planet. More than half of the oxygen we breathe comes from the dissolution of atmospheric carbon dioxide in the waters of the world and its transformation by photosynthesis into organic biomass and oxygen by phytoplankton. The role of microalgae is therefore essential in this decarbonisation activity and therefore in the fight against global warming due to the greenhouse effect. Microalgae also have the ability to absorb other gases such as nitrogen oxides and other VOCs but also to trap fine particles.

 

In addition to trapping CO2, the metabolism of microalgae can be used in phytoremediation, that is to say to accumulate, transform, degrade, concentrate, stabilize or volatilize pollutants (organic and inorganic molecules, metals and radioelements) contained in contaminated soil or water. These microorganisms can thus contribute to the treatment and / or the clarification of wastewater, urban, industrial and agricultural effluents. Recovery routes can then be developed following the sequestration or transformation of pollutants.

 

CUSTOM

DEVELOPMENTS

By combining the skills of GREENCELL in the field of bacteria and fungi and those of GREENSEA in the field of microalgae, the teams of the GREENTECH Group are able to support their customers and offer innovative and sustainable technical solutions combining different microorganisms to respond current environmental issues.

L'ENVIRONNEMENT

SELON GREENSEA

ALGUES ET ENVIRONNEMENT

Capteur de dioxyde de carbone et producteur d’oxygène, l’océan est le plus gros poumon de la planète. Plus de la moitié de l’oxygène que nous respirons provient en effet de la dissolution du dioxyde de carbone atmosphérique dans les eaux du globe et de sa transformation par photosynthèse en biomasse organique et en oxygène par le phytoplancton. Le rôle des microalgues est donc primordial dans cette activité de décarbonation et par conséquent de lutte contre le réchauffement climatique dû à l’effet de serre. Les microalgues ont également la capacité d’absorber d’autres gaz comme les oxydes d’azote et autres COV mais également de piéger des particules fines.

 

Outre le piégeage du CO2, le métabolisme des microalgues peut être mis à profit dans la phytoremédiation, c’est-à-dire pour accumuler, transformer, dégrader, concentrer, stabiliser ou volatiliser des polluants (molécules organiques et inorganiques, métaux et radioéléments) contenus dans des sols ou des eaux contaminés. Ces microorganismes peuvent ainsi contribuer au traitement et/ou à la clarification des eaux usées, des effluents urbains, industriels et agricoles. Des voies de valorisation peuvent ensuite être développées suite à la séquestration ou la transformation des polluants.

 

 DÉVELOPPEMENTS

À FAÇON

En conjuguant les compétences de GREENCELL dans le domaine des bactéries et champignons et celles de GREENSEA dans le domaine des microalgues, les équipes du Groupe GREENTECH sont à même d’accompagner leurs clients et de proposer des solutions techniques innovantes et durables associant différents microorganismes pour répondre aux enjeux environnementaux actuels.